Enter the 2021 Commonwealth education awards for good practice

09 March 2020

Education institutions, teachers and school leaders can now submit entries for the 2021 Commonwealth education awards for good practice.

Education institutions, teachers and school leaders can now submit entries for the 2021 Commonwealth education awards for good practice.

Send in your entry for the 2021 Commonwealth Education Awards now.


Exceptional educators and organisations leading cutting-edge learning and teaching projects can enter as many as six categories:

  1. Rethinking education for innovation
  2. Rethinking education for work
  3. Rethinking education sustainability 
  4. Education as pathways to peace
  5. Education for inclusion
  6. Commonwealth outstanding teacher or school leader


A pan-Commonwealth panel will judge the entries. Two winners for an outstanding educator and an innovative project will be shortlisted across the six categories.

The two top winners will be invited to Kenya in 2021 to receive their awards and showcase their work at the Commonwealth Conference of Education Ministers. Their work will be profiled across the Commonwealth.

Entries will be scored on their:

  • relevance to the local context
  • measurable impact
  • sustainability and innovation
  • efficiency and effectiveness
  • community involvement
  • ability to be replicated.

This year, the awards focus on seeking entries that have worked towards addressing barriers to providing quality education for all, including marginalised groups.


Educators must be Commonwealth citizens and projects must be running in at least one of the 54 member countries.

Entries must be received by 30 June 2020 from: 

  • A teacher or school leader who has shown outstanding leadership or contribution to improving teaching and learning; and
  • A public or private organisation, including ministries, education bodies and non-profits, whose learning project has made a positive impact on learners. The project must be running for at least 12 months.

Secretary-General's message

Speaking from London, Commonwealth Secretary-General Patricia Scotland said: “I am delighted to launch the sixth Commonwealth education awards for good practice on Commonwealth Day.

“The awards not only celebrate promising and innovative practices but also aim to share these ideas with other countries who can replicate to enhance learning outcomes. 

“Education is a top priority for every Commonwealth country. The talent and novelty of awardees can be of great value to fellow education departments, schools and teachers across the Commonwealth.”

Previous winners

The last pan-Commonwealth award winner went to a pro-poor organisation, Dhaka Ahsania Mission, in Bangladesh. The organisation provides education to over 60,000 children in non-formal schools. Most of them are drop-out or out of school children.

Set up in 2006, the awards recognise educators and projects, which have made a positive impact on students, teachers or the national education system.