population icon

Home to 2.5 billion people

The Commonwealth is home to one-third of the world's population and includes both advanced economies and developing countries.

member countries icon

54 member countries

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 54 independent and equal countries in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific.


Commonwealth Secretary-General

The Right Honourable Patricia Scotland QC is the 6th Commonwealth Secretary-General.

Organisations icon

Over 80 organisations

Countries are supported by a network of civil, cultural, intergovernmental and professional organisations.