Home >About us
  • The Commonwealth is home to 2.4 billion citizens and over 60% of these are under the age of 30.

  • Leaders of Commonwealth member countries meet every two years to discuss issues of mutual concern and interest.

  • Thirty one Commonwealth member countries are considered small states, many of them island nations.

  • Commonwealth Day is celebrated on the second Monday of March every year. The next Commonwealth Day will be held on Monday, 9 March 2020.

  • The next Commonwealth Games in 2022 will be held in Birmingham, United Kingdom.

About us

The Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 53 independent and equal sovereign states.

The Commonwealth is home to 2.4 billion people and includes both advanced economies and developing countries. Thirty-one of our members are small states, many of which are island nations.

Our shared values and principles are inscribed in the Commonwealth Charter

Member countries are supported by a network of more than 80 intergovernmental, civil society, cultural and professional organisations.

The last country to join the Commonwealth was Rwanda in 2009. Find out how countries can join the Commonwealth in our Frequently Asked Questions.

The Commonwealth Secretariat

The Commonwealth Secretariat, established in 1965, supports Commonwealth member countries to achieve development, democracy and peace. We are a voice for small and vulnerable states and a champion for young people.

We help to strengthen governance, build inclusive institutions and promote justice and human rights. Our work helps to grow economies and boost trade, empower young people, and address threats such as climate change, debt and inequality.

We provide training and technical assistance and support decision-makers to draw up legislation and deliver policies. We deploy experts and observers who offer impartial advice and solutions to national problems. We also provide systems, software and research for managing resources.

At Commonwealth summits, we bring together government leaders whose decisions will have an enduring impact on all citizens. By uniting our member countries in this way, we help to amplify their voices and achieve collective action on global challenges.

Priority areas of work are agreed at Commonwealth Heads of Government Meetings, which occur every two years. The next summit is in Rwanda in 2020. 

The Commonwealth Secretariat’s structure is split into three areas:

“The establishment of the Commonwealth Secretariat in 1965 emphasised the equality of all members, and gave final discouragement to the lingering sentiment that one member had a right to some predominance over others. It has enabled the Commonwealth to develop along independent lines in accordance with the interest of all its members.”  Julius Nyerere, President of Tanzania (1973). 

Adobe Logo Commonwealth Secretariat High-level Organogram

Our Vision

To help create and sustain a Commonwealth that is mutually respectful, resilient, peaceful and prosperous and that cherishes equality, diversity and shared values. 

Our Mission

We support member governments, and partner with the broader Commonwealth family and others, to improve the well-being of all Commonwealth citizens and to advance their shared interests globally. 

For more information, please contact us.