There are currently 45 economies designated by the United Nations as the least developed countries (LDCs), of which 14 are members of the Commonwealth.

LDCs are low-income countries confronting severe structural impediments to sustainable development. They are highly vulnerable to economic and environmental shocks and have low levels of human assets.

LDCs have exclusive access to certain international support measures in particular in the areas of development assistance and trade. 

Below are the 14 Commonwealth Least Developed Countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Togo
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Zambia