Uganda is a landlocked country in east-central Africa. It mostly sits on a central plateau covered by rainforest. It has high volcanic mountains to the eastern and western borders. Uganda’s neighbours include South Sudan to the north, Kenya east, Tanzania and Rwanda south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.

Secretariat support for Uganda 

Elections support 

In October 2018, Uganda took part in Commonwealth Election Professionals (CEP) Initiative training. Participants exchanged experience and best practice on running fair and trusted elections. 

Elections work

Countering violent extremism 

The Secretariat helped Uganda strengthen its systems and approaches to tackle violent and extremist views. 

Countering violent extremism work

Legal support 

The Secretariat helped Uganda strengthen its law reform institutions. 

The Secretariat developed a case law handbook to accompany the Commonwealth Judicial Bench Book on Violence against Women and Girls in East Africa. This will be used in Uganda. 

Legal work


The Secretariat Youth Programme helped Uganda set up youth work associations. A Commonwealth conference enabled participants to share knowledge and good practice on youth work. 

In December 2018, a Commonwealth workshop improved young Ugandans’ skills to promote understanding of different faiths and cultures. 

Youth work

Sustainable development 

The Secretariat helped Uganda develop its skills to manage its natural resources, particularly its petroleum sector, more sustainably. 

Climate change work

Blue Charter

Uganda is a member of the Commonwealth Clean Ocean Alliance – the Blue Charter Action Group on tackling marine plastic pollution.

Blue Charter

Uganda in the Commonwealth 

Ugandan, Samuel Kavuma, was appointed to the Commonwealth Eminent Persons Group in 2010. 

Ugandans won the Commonwealth Essay Competition in 1989 and 2007. 

Find out more 

Learn more about the Secretariat's work

Total population

Key Facts

45.7 million (2022)
241,551 square kilometres
Capital city
Joined the Commonwealth
1962, following independence from Britain