Pakistan lies to the north-west of India. Its other neighbours are China, Afghanistan and Iran. It borders the Arabian Sea to the south. Pakistan has a varied climate and geography. It has vast mountain ranges in the north, an area of desert in the west and the Indus River plain in the centre. The east is fertile and has many lakes.

Secretariat support for Pakistan 


The Secretariat helped Pakistan improve its management of elections and election laws. One aim was to increase women’s participation.  

In 2019, Commonwealth representatives visited Pakistan. They met with officials and helped strengthen the security of online election tools and databases. 

Elections work

Human rights 

The Secretariat helped Pakistan build good relationships between local human rights organisations, politicians and business leaders. 

Human Rights work


The Secretariat Youth Programme helped Pakistan build partnerships between young people, businesses, academics and the government. The aim was to increase youth employment and encourage young people to set up businesses. Pakistan committed to establish a Youth Employment and Entrepreneurship Research Centre at the Superior University Lahore. 

Youth work

Connectivity Agenda 

Pakistan is a member of the Physical and Digital Connectivity clusters of the Commonwealth Connectivity Agenda. The Connectivity Agenda is a platform for countries to exchange best practices and experiences to trade and investment and undertake domestic reform. 

Connectivity Agenda 

Blue Charter

Pakistan is a member of the Mangrove Ecosystems and Livelihoods Action Group.

Blue Charter

Pakistan in the Commonwealth

Mohammed Hanif won the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best First Book award in 2009. 

In July 2019, Ata Ul Haq won a Commonwealth Innovation for Sustainable Development Award for her work in promoting women’s empowerment and peace.  

Find out more 

Learn more about the Secretariat's work

Total population

Key Facts

220.9 million (2022)
882,000 square kilometres
Capital city
Joined the Commonwealth
1947, on partition from India; left in 1972, rejoined in 1989