Home >News and events >News >Environment dominates agenda at Commonwealth Youth Council

Environment dominates agenda at Commonwealth Youth Council

19 April 2018

Environmental concerns and climate change were uppermost on the minds of young delegates from 47 Commonwealth countries in London yesterday.

It was the largest ever meeting of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth Youth Council, with more than 500 young people taking part.

The General Assembly is the highest decision-making body of the Commonwealth Youth Council andproposals will form part of the Youth Forum declaration to be presented to Commonwealth leaders .

Earlier, youth delegates had the opportunity to meet Prince Harry and his fiancée Meghan Markle. 

The Commonwealth Youth Council’s newly-elected Chair, Tijani Christian, said the issues of sustainability and climate change were a key point of discussion in the Youth Forum, especially in regard to small state members of the Commonwealth.

In an exciting and lively closing session, delegates were addressed by UK Secretary of State for Energy Hon Clare Perry, the President of the Senate of Malaysia, His Excellency Tan Sri Dato Sri’ SA. Vigneswaran, ‘Be Cool Be Nice’ Ambassador June Sarpong, and outgoing CYC Chair Kishva Ambigapathy.

Layne Robinson, the Commonwealth Secretariat’s Head of Social Policy Development said: "The young people spoke very clearly on what they want to see. They mentioned things like mainstreaming the young people throughout government systems."

Delegates from the Youth Forum met with leaders this morning, at the start of CHOGM’s formal proceedings.

In his closing remarks, outgoing chairperson Kishva Ambigapathy said: “This is not the closing session but the opening of new initiatives, new energies. Go home and engage young people at home and make sure they are empowered.”

The CYC election results 
  • Chairperson: Tijani Christian, Jamaica
  • Vice Chairperson for Policy and Advocacy: Nafula Faith Wafula, Kenya
  • Vice Chairperson for Partnerships and Resources: Abena Dugan, Ghana.
  • Vice Chairperson for Inclusion and Engagement: Darrion Narine, Trinidad and Tobago
  • Pacific Regional Representative: Elizabeth Kite, Tonga
  • Caribbean and Americas Regional Representative: Franz Ernest Mario George, St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Asia Regional Representative: Qasim Farasat, Pakistan
  • Africa and Europe Regional Representative: Eunice Eleanor Dziedzorm Klinogo, Ghana
  • Representative for Special Interests Groups: Michele Alexis Thomas, Jamaica