Commonwealth Blue Charter All Champs Meeting

Event date: 27 March 2023, 0:00 - 30 March 2023, 0:00
Local fishermen on a boat

Date: 27 – 30 March, Ottawa, Canada

The Commonwealth Blue Charter is an agreement by all 56 Commonwealth countries to actively cooperate to address ocean-related challenges and to meet national and international commitments for marine protection and sustainable ocean development.

Member-led Action Groups implement the Commonwealth Blue Charter. To date, 16 countries have stepped forward to champion or co-champion action on 10 ocean topics that they have identified:

  • Commonwealth Clean Ocean Alliance (marine plastic pollution) (United Kingdom and Vanuatu)
  • Coral Reef Protection and Restoration (Australia, Belize and Mauritius)
  • Mangrove Ecosystems and Livelihoods (Sri Lanka)
  • Marine Protected Areas (Barbados and Seychelles)
  • Ocean Acidification (New Zealand)
  • Ocean and Climate Change (Fiji)
  • Ocean Observation (Canada)
  • Sustainable Aquaculture (Cyprus)
  • Sustainable Blue Economy (Antigua and Barbuda and Kenya)
  • Sustainable Coastal Fisheries (Kiribati and Maldives)

From 27th to 30th of March, 2023, representatives from these Champion countries will gather in Ottawa, Canada to review progress and lessons learned over the five years since the Commonwealth Blue Charter was agreed at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in London in 2018.

Champion countries will also discuss project development and implementation, including updates on the recently-launched Blue Charter Project Incubator, trainings, research, pilot projects and rapid assessments carried out in member countries.  

Champions will also discuss relevant actions to take in the lead up to the forthcoming Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in 2024 in Samoa, where the ocean is expected to be a prominent focus.

For more information about this meeting, email [email protected] 

About Commonwealth Blue Charter

Media contact

  • Josephine Latu-Sanft  Senior Communications Officer, Communications Division, Commonwealth Secretariat
  • +44 20 7747 6476  |  E-mail