United Republic of Tanzania

United Republic of Tanzania

The United Republic of Tanzania is an East African country bordering the Indian Ocean. Its neighbours are Kenya and Uganda, to the north, Rwanda, Burundi and Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. The country includes the island of Zanzibar. Mount Kilimanjaro is the highest point in Africa.

Secretariat support for Tanzania 

Countering violent extremism 

The Secretariat helped Tanzania build the skills of community police officers in preventing violent and extremist views and countering terrorism. It also worked with Tanzania to tackle extremism using education and engagement in prisons. 

Countering violent extremism work

Access to justice 

The Secretariat helped build knowledge in Tanzania’s judicial sector. One of the focus areas was helping women access justice. 

Legal work


The Secretariat worked with Tanzania to better involve young people in government policies and planning. 

Youth work


The Secretariat helped Tanzania build knowledge on trade policy. It also provided Tanzania with a report on the possible impact of the UK leaving the European Union on trade between the two countries. 

Trade work

Debt management 

The Secretariat helped Tanzania use its debt management system, Meridian. 

Debt management work

Natural resources 

The Secretariat worked with Tanzania to regulate its petroleum sector. The country also learned about managing risk and developing a national oil company. 

Natural resources work

The United Republic of Tanzania in the Commonwealth 

Tanzanian national Dr William Shija was appointed Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association in 2007. 

Find out more 

Learn more about the Secretariat's work

Total population

Key Facts

59.7 million (2022)
947,000 square kilometres
Dar es Salaam (acting), Dodoma (official)
Joined the Commonwealth
1961, following independence from Britain