Nigeria is a large, densely populated West African country on the Gulf of Guinea. Its neighbours are Benin, Niger, Chad and Cameroon. Nigeria’s coast is low-lying with lagoons and sandy beaches. There is a high plateau of extinct volcanoes in the centre of the country and a mountainous area along its border with Cameroon.

Secretariat support for Nigeria 

Tackling corruption 

In May 2018, the Secretariat helped Nigeria share new ideas to stop corruption with other countries in the Africa region. It also helped senior officials from Nigeria’s government, judiciary and Economic and Financial Crimes Commission build skills to prevent, investigate and prosecute corruption. 

The Secretariat provided Nigeria with policy advice on public finance and managing risks. As a result, the government made progress in transparency, fairness and value for money when buying goods and services. 

Tackling corruption


In 2017, the Secretariat provided Nigeria with a report on the possible impact of the UK leaving the European Union on trade between the two countries. The government was therefore able to prepare for potential economic disruption. 

Trade work

Natural resources 

The Secretariat advised Nigeria’s mining sector on contracts and the international rules that govern seabed mining. It also helped the government to prepare to negotiate with the International Seabed Authority (ISA).  

Natural resources work

Blue Charter 

Nigeria is a member of the Commonwealth Clean Ocean Alliance and Mangrove Ecosystems and Livelihoods Action Groups. 

Blue Charter

Connectivity Agenda 

Nigeria is a member of the Physical and Digital Connectivity clusters of the Commonwealth Connectivity Agenda. The Connectivity Agenda is a platform for countries to exchange best practices and experiences to trade and investment and undertake domestic reform. 

Connectivity Agenda 

Find out more 

Learn more about the Secretariat's work

Total population

Key Facts

206.1 million (2022)
924,000 square kilometres
Capital city
Joined the Commonwealth
1960, following independence from Britain; membership suspended 1995-99