8th Commonwealth Caribbean Anti-Corruption Conference

Event date: 23 May 2022, 0:00 - 25 May 2022, 0:00 BST

The 8th Annual Conference of the Commonwealth Caribbean Association of Integrity Commissions and Anti-Corruption Bodies (CCAICACB) will take place in St. Kitts and Nevis, and virtually, from 23 – 25 May 2022 under the theme, ‘Controlling Corruption – Preventative Mechanisms Work Better Than Reactive Measures’.

The Conference is organised by the Commonwealth Secretariat and St Kitts Integrity Commission in collaboration with the Association of Integrity Commissions and Anti-Corruption Bodies. It will bring together heads of anti-corruption agencies, senior government officials, relevant international organisations, policymakers, and development partners to review national and regional anti-corruption efforts, share knowledge and good practices, and discuss the impacts of corruption on sustainable development.

During the ensuing days, there will be a combination of presentations by experts in various anti-corruption fields, panel discussions on sub-themes, and country reports by the jurisdictions that comprise the Association.

Among the topics that will be discussed are:

  • Public and private sector anti-corruption regimes
  • Loopholes in public procurement
  • Risk management and law enforcement: internationally, regionally, and nationally
  • The role of civil society: traditional media, social media, the church, and NGOs
  • Life cycle approach: sociology and formal education in schools
  • Contrasting investment in prevention vs enforcement, investigation and litigation
  • Why some countries are improving on the transparency international index
  • Utilising blockchain technology to prevent corruption

The Commonwealth Secretary-General, The Rt Hon Patricia Scotland QC, will speak at the opening of the conference while the Honourable Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis, Dr Timothy Harris, will deliver a keynote address. 



Media contact

  • Angela Kolongo  Communications Officer, Communications Division, Commonwealth Secretariat
  • E-mail  |  +44 7587 881503