Home to 2.5 billion people

The Commonwealth is home to one-third of the world's population and includes both advanced economies and developing countries.

56 member countries

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 56 independent and equal countries in Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific.

Commonwealth Secretary-General

The Right Honourable Patricia Scotland KC is the 6th Commonwealth Secretary-General.

Over 80 organisations

Countries are supported by a network of civil, cultural, intergovernmental and professional organisations.

Stay up to date