Home >News and events >News >Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG) to meet in London

Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG) to meet in London

27 April 2011
Fiji, CMAG reform on agenda

The nine-member Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG) will meet in London on Thursday (28 April 2011).

CMAG, which comprises foreign ministers, will continue discussions on how its role can be strengthened, under a mandate handed down by Commonwealth Heads of Government at their last meeting in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, in November 2009.

The Group will also discuss Fiji, which is currently suspended from the Commonwealth.  At its last meeting, in New York in September 2010, CMAG reiterated its serious concern about the lack of progress made toward the restoration of civilian constitutional democracy in Fiji.  CMAG expressed its sincere hope that Fiji would take the steps required to enable the restoration of its full participation in the Commonwealth as soon as possible, and emphasised the Commonwealth’s continued readiness to assist Fiji on that path. 

CMAG was established by Commonwealth Heads of Government in November 1995 to deal with serious or persistent violations of the Commonwealth's fundamental political values.

CMAG currently comprises the Foreign Ministers of Australia, Bangladesh, Ghana, Jamaica, Maldives, Namibia, New Zealand, Trinidad and Tobago, and Vanuatu.