Dominica elections: preliminary results released, observers to report on findings

07 December 2022
Dominica Election 1

The Electoral Office of the Commonwealth of Dominica has released preliminary results following the country’s general elections on 6 December.

The results show that the Dominica Labour Party (DLP), led by the current Prime Minister, Hon Roosevelt Skerrit, has won 19 out of 21 seats. The remaining two seats were secured by independent candidates.

Polls only took place in 15 of the country’s 21 constituencies. In 6 constituencies, the running candidates were unopposed, thus securing their seats before the elections.   

Supporting democracy 

A five-member Commonwealth Observer Group, headed by former Kenyan Cabinet Secretary, Hon. Amina Mohamed, are in the country to observe and assess the pre- and post-election environment as well as the conduct of elections on polling day.

On election day, the observers were deployed to polling stations across the country to observe the opening, voting, closing, counting, and results management processes. Polling stations were open from 7 am until 5 pm.

Official tallying is currently underway with results expected to be released by the Electoral Office shortly.

The Chair of the Commonwealth Observer Group and former Kenyan Cabinet Secretary, Hon. Amina Mohamed, said:

“Dominica is a valued member of our Commonwealth, and we are committed to supporting the deepening of its democracy.

“On behalf of the Group, I would like to thank the people of the Commonwealth of Dominica for their participation in the election and for allowing us to be a part of this process.”

Dominica Election 2

Electoral process

The Commonwealth observers will now prepare their preliminary observations and present them in an interim statement soon.

The final report, which will be issued at a later date, will include a set of recommendations that will seek to support the strengthening of the electoral processes in the country.

The Observers, supported by a team from the Commonwealth Secretariat, have been in the country since 28 November and will depart by 11 December.

Media contact

  • Angela Kolongo Communications Officer, Communications Division, Commonwealth Secretariat
  • T: +44 7587 881503  |  E-mail