Home >Newsroom >Press releases >Uganda’s 2016 elections ‘again fall short of democratic benchmarks’, say Commonwealth observers

Commonwealth election observers in Uganda - February 2016.

Uganda’s 2016 elections ‘again fall short of democratic benchmarks’, say Commonwealth observers

20 February 2016

Kampala, 20 February 2016 - Issued by the Commonwealth Observer Group to Uganda

Uganda’s 2016 general elections were marked by a lack of a level electoral playing field, an increased prevalence of money in politics, alleged misuse of state resources, inequitable media coverage, and question marks over the secrecy of the ballot and the competence of the Electoral Commission to manage the process, according to an independent group of Commonwealth election observers.

Former President of Nigeria, Olusegun Obasanjo, Chair of the Commonwealth Observer Group to the 2016 General Elections, delivered the observers’ interim assessment on 20 February, saying that, “once again these elections fell short of meeting key democratic benchmarks”.

Addressing journalists in Kampala, President Obasanjo stated: “While the presidential elections were competitive with regard to the number of candidates, practical restrictions on basic freedoms of assembly and movement affected the fairness of the campaign for opposition candidates.

“Moreover, the overall competitiveness of the campaign was compromised by a lack of transparency with regard to campaign financing. The Group noted with concern that the fusing of the state and ruling party in Uganda - highlighted by previous Commonwealth observers - had deepened, with a consequent adverse impact on political freedoms and further undermining any efforts to level the playing field for these elections.”

The President Obasanjo further commended the commitment shown by voters despite what he described as “inexcusable” delays at many polling stations. In response to reported incidents of violence since the close of polls, the Chair said: “I reiterate my call to all Ugandans to allow the results process to conclude in an atmosphere of peace, and urge that any challenges be conducted through the legal process”.

The Commonwealth Observer Group, composed of eminent persons drawn from across the Commonwealth, was appointed by Commonwealth Secretary-General Kamalesh Sharma. Their mandate is to observe the preparations for the election, the polling, counting and the results processes, and the overall electoral environment.

The observers are tasked with assessing whether the elections were conducted according to the standards to which Uganda has committed, including domestic law and relevant regional, Commonwealth and other international standards. The observers are bound by the International Declaration of Principles for Election Observation, to which the Commonwealth is a signatory.

The Commonwealth Observer Group arrived in Uganda on 11 February and will remain in the country while they complete their final report. The report will be submitted to the Commonwealth Secretary-General, who will in turn send it to the Government of the Republic of Uganda, Electoral Commission, political parties, and all Commonwealth governments. It will shortly thereafter be made public.


Notes to Editors:

Download the Interim Statement from the Commonwealth Observer Group to Uganda. 
Read all news and announcements, and download photos at: www.thecommonwealth.org/ugandaelection2016

Social Media:

Join the conversation online at #UgandaDecides #CommonwealthElections
Follow us: @commonwealthsec


Members of the Observer Group:

Chairperson, HE Olusegun Obasanjo
Former President

Vice-Chairperson, Amos Wako
Senator and Former Attorney General

Paul Dacey
Former Electoral Commissioner

Selima Ahmad
Gender Specialist

Christopher Cobb
Communications Specialist

Julian Johnson
Commissioner, National Integrity Commission

Patrick Hayford
Former Diplomat

Rubina Singh
Youth Activist

John Githongo
Civil Society Expert

Lindiwe Mokate
Commissioner, South African Human Rights Commission
South Africa

Rene Baptiste 
Speaker of OECS National Assembly and Former Minister
St Vincent and the Grenadines

Michael Flood
Electoral Commissioner
Saint Lucia

Mark Robinson
Former Member of Parliament
United Kingdom


Media Contact: 
Will Henley
​Senior Communications Officer
Commonwealth Secretariat
Email: w.henley@commonwealth.int