Home >News and events >Events >Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards

Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards

The Commonwealth Education Good Practice Award was launched in 2005 to celebrate and promote good practice in education throughout the Commonwealth.

The awards were introduced in 2006 at the 16th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers in South Africa, where ministers endorsed the programme in recognition of positive and promising practices in education throughout the Commonwealth.

The third round of the awards, presented at the 18th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers in Mauritius in August 2012, was won by Rwanda, which was one of 123 applications from 27 countries from around the Commonwealth.

Call for submissions for 2015

Submissions are open for the Commonwealth Education Good Practice Awards 2015, which will be presented at the 19th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers (19CCEM) in The Bahamas in June 2015.

Commonwealth ministries of education, educational institutions and civil society organisations, providing or promoting primary and secondary education, are invited to submit Good Practices taking place in their country in one or more of the following eight Action Areas:

  • achieving universal primary education;
  • eliminating gender disparities in education;
  • improving quality in education;
  • mitigating the impact of HIV and AIDS on education systems;
  • supporting education in difficult circumstances;
  • using distance learning to overcome barriers;
  • using education to promote sustainable development eg. climate change education;
  • and promoting civil paths to peace eg., respect and understanding

Winners will be invited to the 19th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers (19CCEM) in The Bahamas, where the awards will be presented.

The deadline for submissions is 15 January 2015.