Youth Awards

The Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work celebrate the contribution of young people to achieving global development goals.

The awards, presented to Commonwealth citizens aged 15–29, showcase the work of outstanding young people who are leading initiatives ranging from poverty alleviation to peace building.

Each year an outstanding entrant is named Commonwealth Young Person of the Year, with regional awards given for Asia, the Pacific, the Caribbean and Americas, Africa and Europe.

The awards demonstrate to leaders and other policy-makers the importance of young people’s role in development. The awards also serve to inspire other young people to take action in their communities.

Development work can be within any number of areas, such as skills training, arts and culture, environment protection, education, health and well-being, human rights, technology, sport, science and many more areas.

Read More about the Previous Winners of the Commonwealth Youth Awards (CYA) for Excellence in Development Work:

2021 Youth Awards Winners

2020 Youth Awards Winners

2019 Youth Awards Winners

2018 Youth Awards Winners

2017 Youth Awards Winners

2016 Youth Awards Winners

2015 Youth Awards Winners

2013 Youth Awards Winners

2012 Youth Awards Winners

2016 Commonwealth Youth Award winners