

CMAG Suspension History

The Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG) was created by Commonwealth Heads of Government in Auckland, New Zealand, in 1995.

The body was set up as a mechanism to deal with serious or persistent violations of the principles set out in the 1991 Harare Commonwealth Declaration. These values are now encapsulated in the Commonwealth Charter.

Since it was established, CMAG has suspended member states on seven occasions.

Country	Date of Suspension	Type of Suspension	Suspension Lifted
Nigeria	November 1995	Full Suspension	May 1999
Sierra Leone	October 1997	Suspension from the Councils of the Commonwealth	July 1998
Pakistan	October 1999	Suspension from the Councils of the Commonwealth	May 2004
Fiji	June 2000	Suspension from the Councils of the Commonwealth	December 2001
Fiji	December 2006	Suspension from the Councils of the Commonwealth	September 2014
Pakistan	November 2007	Suspension from the Councils of the Commonwealth	May 2008
Fiji	September 2009	Full Suspension	March 2014

All suspended countries have returned to full membership after meeting specific conditions, such as the restoration of democracy; with the exception of Zimbabwe which chose to withdraw in 2003 after its suspension was renewed by Heads of Government.

Suspension from the Councils of the Commonwealth and Full Suspension

Suspension from the Councils of the Commonwealth entails the exclusion of a government from all Commonwealth intergovernmental meetings and events, including ministerial meetings and CHOGM, as well as a halt to new Commonwealth technical assistance other than that directed towards the restoration of democracy.

Full suspension involves, in addition to the measures set out above, the removal of all emblematic representation of the country concerned from the Commonwealth Secretariat, at Commonwealth meetings and all other official Commonwealth events, and the exclusion of the country from all Commonwealth events including sport and cultural activities.