Home >Commonwealth Deputy Secretaries-General

Commonwealth Deputy Secretaries-General

The Deputy Secretary-General supports the Secretary-General in the management of the Commonwealth Secretariat.

They are appointed by the Secretary-General following a selection process.

Deputy Secretary-General (Economic and Social Development), Deodat Maharaj (2014 -)

Deodat Maharaj

Deodat Maharaj advises and reports to the Secretary-General on economic affairs, trade and debt, social development, and public sector governance. He also oversees the management of the Commonwealth Fund for Technical Co-operation.

Mr Maharaj was formerly Chief, Division for Afghanistan, Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific at the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in New York. During his career he has served as Chief of Staff in the UNDP's Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific and Head of the Secretariat on the Ministerial Council for Social Development with the Government of Trinidad and Tobago.


Deputy Secretary-General (Political), Dr Josephine Ojiambo (2015-)

Dr Josephine OjiamboDr Ojiambo oversees the political, human rights, rule of law, and communications work of the Secretariat.

Dr Ojiambo comes to the Commonwealth Secretariat from the United Nations Population Fund where she was serving as Chief of the Executive Board and External Relations Branch with responsibility for intergovernmental relations, and also for building strategic relations with UN agencies, civil society and the private sector.