Home >Commonwealth Blue Charter

Commonwealth Blue Charter

The world’s ocean is essential to life on our planet. It provides our largest source of oxygen and protein and absorbs around a quarter of our carbon dioxide emissions. Billions of people depend on it for their livelihoods. Contributing more than 95 per cent of Earth’s living space, it has continuously provided economic resilience for coastal and island states, whilst connecting all nations in global trade.

Yet human activity is increasingly putting the health of this crucial natural resource in peril. Blue ecosystems are being degraded and destroyed at an unprecedented rate and this is not an issue any single country can solve.

Recognising the need for a collaborative approach, the Commonwealth Secretariat has consulted with member countries on a proposal that could turn around the decline in ocean health.

To date, eleven countries have stepped forward to be ‘Blue Charter Champions’ and lead on different topic areas relevant to sustainable ocean development and conservation. Action Groups’ priorities, initiatives and outputs will be member-driven. By sharing knowledge and experiences, new innovations can be developed and implemented through the Action Groups.

Action Group Champions

  1. Aquaculture - Cyprus
  2. Blue economy - Kenya
  3.  Coral reef restoration - Australia, Belize, Mauritius
  4. Mangrove restoration - Sri Lanka
  5. Marine plastics (aka ‘Commonwealth Clean Oceans Alliance’) - UK, Vanuatu
  6. Ocean acidification - New Zealand
  7. Ocean and climate change - Fiji
  8. Ocean observations - Canada

Read the Commonwealth Blue Charter

World Oceans Day 2018: A Blue Charter for a blue planet

In April this year, the 53 countries of the Commonwealth adopted the Commonwealth Blue Charter, creating a bright blue beacon to guide cooperative action on ocean issues. MORE

VIDEOS: Sea of Voices

People from across the Commonwealth give their views on the state of ocean health and the Commonwealth Blue Charter. MORE